Sector 5: Peacebuilding & Relations

The Peacebuilding & Relations Sector focuses on establishing a global Culture of Peace by teaching principles of social justice and modeling compassion for all. The Virginia HUB affirmatively supports the beauty of racial diversity, the preservation of indigenous cultures, the need for universal gender equality, and the full acceptance of sexual orientation. This Sector also provides training in alternative dispute resolution techniques, such as Spiral Dynamics, Integral Theory, Sociocracy, and Polarity Theory. As an additional Peacebuilding resource, our good friends at The Shift Network have provided us with a link to their World Peace Library. The “heart” of the Peace Pentagon is dedicated to this critical Sector.

Click HERE to see HUB Individual Members in this Sector

Click HERE to see HUB Organizations in this Sector

Upcoming Events

Mon Feb 12
A Debate: Is War Ever Justifiable?
Radford, VA
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Pete Kilner is a writer and military ethicist who served more than 28 years in
the Army as an infantryman and professor at the U.S. Military Academy. He

Sun Jan 07
MLK PEACE EXPO: Welcome to the Beloved Community RESOURCE FAIR!
Washington, DC
2:30am - 5:45am

Attend the MLK Interfaith Commemorative Event then, following the program, “Table”, during the Reception to share the good work of your organization.

Sat Jan 20 to Sun Jan 21
March On's #WeekendOfWomen!

It's the holidays, but women across the country are not just wrapping gifts, lighting candles, setting up Festivus poles, sharing libations, and sipping eggnog.

Thu Dec 07
Beyond Me to We: Activating Our Highest Potentials Through Mutual Awakening
8:00pm

Isn’t it time we turn toward each other to activate our highest potentials?
We are living in a time of unprecedented connectivity.

Sun Nov 05 to Tue Nov 07
Vision 2020, Illuminating Our Path to a Brighter Future

Join Bold Visionaries, Innovative Change Agents & Paradigm-Shifting Leaders to Help Build A World That Works For ALL

Wed Oct 25
The Global Pause: Free Webinar & Collective Conversation
6:00pm - 7:00pm

What if you were calm? And he was calm? And she was calm... just for a moment? No. Seriously...
This is the moment that we need to stop. Collectively.

Mon Oct 23 to Mon Nov 13
Building a Nonviolent Direct Action Campaign
7:00pm - 9:00pm

Are you feeling the urgency of climate chaos and ready to move beyond pleading with elected officials who are in the pockets of the fossil fuel industry?

Mon Oct 09 to Fri Oct 13
We-Space Summit: A Five Day Online Global Journey

Learn from over 150 of the World's Trailblazing Pioneers and Experts who are making new inroads into leading-edge Collective Practice.

Mon Oct 16
Intent & Action: How to Create the Daring Paradigm of Compassion

How do we move through polarization and into authentic compassionate connection? It doesn’t begin “out there” with others.

Sun Oct 01
Richmond Peace Festival 2017
Richmond, VA
11:00am - 6:00pm

The Richmond Peace Festival is an annual celebration of the great diversity of cultures and faiths that enrich Richmond, Virginia.

Thu Sep 21
BeThePeace Global Meditation
3:00pm - 4:00pm

Hosted by the Gaiafield Project and the Shift Network In honor of the International Day of Peace, please join us for a BeThePeace Global Meditation at 12noon US Pacific on September 21.

Mon Sep 11 to Thu Sep 21
11 Days of Global Unity (online event)

When you get right down to it, as a human race we have what it takes to transform our world.

Sun Aug 20
Discover Your Purpose. Find Your Soul's Calling. Live Your Mythopoetic Identity.

Soul-encounter is not psychotherapy, it won't help you heal old wounds, have better relationships, or make you a well-adjusted person.

Thu Jul 20 to Thu Jul 27
Know Your Neighbor Social Media Campaign: Share Your Story

We find ourselves in a moment where we are deeply polarized as a nation by divides—cultural, religious, political--that impact our communities and even our families.

Tue Jul 25
Immigration: US - Mexico Border
11:00am

The Charter for Compassion Social Justice Sector, along with partner organizations, recognizes the need for improved holistic treatment of immigrants and refugees now in the face of international c

Sat Sep 23
March for Civility
Washington, DC
10:00am - 4:00pm

Description: The Washington D.C. March for Civility is a nonpartisan effort to bring people of all backgrounds together in support of civility, free speech, unity and equality for all.

Sat Sep 16
Flotilla for Environment & Peace
Arlington, VA
9:00am

One week before the #NoWar2017: War and the Environment conference, World Beyond War will work with the Backbone Campaign and other allies to organize a flotilla for the environment and peace, brin

Wed Jul 12
Rivers of Blood II, 2017 Call to Action
Washington, DC
10:00am

“…This I believe to be the privilege and the burden of all of us who deem ourselves bound by allegiances and loyalties which are broader and deeper than nationalism and which go beyond our nation’s

Sun Aug 06 to Wed Aug 09
August 6-9 Peace Actions
Washington, DC
7:30am

Sunday, August 6 @ White House from 7:30 8:30 AM (August 6th is the anniversary of the U.S.

Sat Sep 16 to Sun Sep 24
Campaign Nonviolence

Campaign Nonviolence is a long-term grassroots movement for a culture of peace and nonviolence free from war, poverty, racism, environmental destruction and the epidemic of violence.

Fri Jul 14 to Sat Jul 15
Women's March from NRA 2 DOJ
Fairfax, VA
9:00am - 3:00pm

We know that we are not safe. But we will not be intimidated into silence.

Tue Jul 11 to Tue Sep 05
Inspiring Positive Social Change: Cutting Edge Insights from Spirituality, Neuroscience & Peacebuilding

It can be discouraging, even heartbreaking, to hear of tragedies and violence happening in all corners of the world.

Sun Jul 09 to Sat Aug 05
Growing Words of Compassion: Nature and Writing Practices to Love By

This hands-on, multidisciplinary course will help students engage with their innate capacity for tender compassion.

Fri Sep 22 to Sun Sep 24
No War 2017: War and the Environment Conference
Washington, DC
9:00am - 9:00pm

The conference will focus on activism, including activist planning workshops addressing how the antiwar and environmental movements can work together.

Wed Jun 21 to Thu Sep 21
Summer of Peace

The Shift Network has identified the Northern Hemisphere’s summer — beginning on June 21, the United Nations’ International Day of Yoga and ending on September 21, the United Nations’ International

Sat May 06
TEDxHerndon: Difficult Conversations
Herndon, VA
2:00pm - 6:00pm

Speakers talk about ideas related to how we communicate, how we collaborate, and how we think about the future.

Sat May 20 to Sat May 27
Sam's Ride for Peace
Raleigh, NC

Bikers will start on the NC State campus and ride all the way to Washington, DC for the World Peace Challenge. Seven days with stops in cities along the way. See website for detailed itinerary.

Sun May 14
Mother's Day Action in DC
Washington, DC
2:00pm - 4:00pm

This Mother’s Day, join us in front of the White House to make the Mother of all Fruit Salads to feed the hungry and say No to war.

Empowered Women Fri Jun 09 to Sun Jun 11
Women's Empowerment Workshop
Independence, VA
5:00pm - 10:00pm

All women are reflections of the Divine Feminine (though sometimes we need to be reminded of this fact). Early man honored women for their ability to create life and give birth.

Current News

Member Events

Fri Nov 03 to Sun Nov 05
Conscious Relationships Retreat: Creating Inner Peace During Stressful Times
Independence, VA

This Retreat will guide you through discovering the “Revolutionary Agreements” and integrating them in very practical ways into your life.

Thu Aug 24
Independence Women’s Huddle & URI Cooperation Circle
Independence, VA
6:30pm - 8:00pm

First We Marched
Now We Huddle